UPM European Master in Computational Logic (EMCL)


The Computer Science Department (Facultad de Informática) of the Technical University of Madrid (UPM) launched a Master Degree in Computational Logic with international cooperation during the course 2004/2005. It was the first Erasmus Mundus master in Europe in the area of Computer Science.

The aim of the master in Computational Logic (more about Computational Logic) is to provide students with the theoretical and practical preparation required for the rigorous development of advanced software using computational logic, declarative technology and formal methods. The curriculum covers foundations, techniques, tools and practice in the development of reliable and highly functional software, and in its validation and verification. The background and skills students acquire are essential for those working with systems involving symbolic computation, a high degree of logical or mathematical content, or with advanced knowledge representation or automated reasoning capabilities.

The program aims to provide a foundation for grasping, applying (and if necessary, contributing to) the new formal tools available today for specification, development, analysis, transformation, validation, verification, combination and compilation of code, advanced software, knowledge based systems, and new languages for the production of reliable software.

These tools and techniques are based on diverse logical and algebraic calculi that draw from the theory of types, higher order, fuzzy and temporal logics, specification algebras and languages, abstract interpretation, calculi based on semantic methods, automata, functional calculi, automated deduction, and diverse declarative languages such as logic programming and functional languages, constraint-based languages, and hybrids.

The Master will was launched in September 2004. The Master's program is developed jointly with a consortium of three other EU universities as part of the European Master in Computational Logic: the Technical University of Dresden, Technical University of Vienna, Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, and Nova University of Lisbon.